On the Razzle in Santiago

I had just finished a few days work assignment in Santiago de Chile and at last, it was the week-end! A few drinks with colleagues and then it was just the two of us, me and my camera.

Not much to tell really, just a case of going to the area where it was all happening and enjoy. The night was still young!!!

(As an experiment, night shots are in black and white……and yes…… as the morning light appears, there will be a symbolic change to colour.)

Although a little distracted with visits to a number of interesting watering holes, the night passed quickly. Luckily, I didn’t have to work the following day and my flight back to Lima wasn’t until the evening.

If some images are not clear, it was not the fault of the camera but due the physical state of the slightly intoxicated photographer!!!!

The night wore on….. and soon the dark began to disappear.

Weary revellers started to make their way home.

Lovers, sealed the night with a parting Kiss.

The streets were now almost empty, replaced by the early risers walking briskly down the shuttered streets.

The buildings lost their night time shadows and a new day started.

As the pigeons looked on…..

the empty bottles and cans were the only remnants of the past hours.

Well,……except for a few timeless souls, oblivious of both the hour and the location of nearest public conveniences.

But even the debris of the night would soon disappear, as they were meticulously collected for recycling, a way indeed, to gain a few extra pesos.

Slowly, the city came to life.

The early morning newspapers were on sale.

The kiosks opened their shutters and displayed their goods.

And people grabbed a quick early morning street breakfast, which is …….as I put the camera away, just what I planned to do myself.

A brief explanation of the title! From Google.

OTHER ARTICLES ON CHILE

OTHER ARTICLES ON NIGHT LIFE

7 responses to “On the Razzle in Santiago”

  1. There was a time when I would have enjoyed a night out like this but these days I’m happy to stay at home. Glad you had a great time and you have some interesting images to show for it.

    Like

    1. Bit of a hangover too!

      Like

  2. Wonderful photos of a night out.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, what a night out! I’m at least 30 years your junior, but I can’t stay up past 23h00 most nights, let alone being up until sunrise. Sounds like a fun night!

    Like

    1. My sugestión I to drink Peruvian (not Chilean) Pisco. I find that Piscotherapy usuallybgets me through the night.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for the glimpse into the nighttime world of a city I’ve never visited. The photos show the commonality of people who live for the night.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. As the old Cole Porter song goes, “night and day…”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment