A Story about Chabuca’s Song.

This is a story about something that happened two nights ago in Barranco, the bohemian quarter of Lima. As it is a story, I will tell you about  the place and the characters involved first and then expain how it all fits together.

The Singer

Can I introduce you to the famous singer and song writer, Chabuca Granda. She is a Peruvian legend and revered and loved by all.

She has written many songs about Lima, one of them being “La Flor de la Canela”  She was born in 1920 and died in 1983 but her music lives on.

In the centre of Barranco there is an  enormous mural of her.

She also has the honour of being depicted on the ten sol Peruvian banknote. There isn’t one Peruvian who doesn’t know Chabuca!

The Guitarist

Amado is in his sixties and has played the guitar since he was a youth. He plays “Musica Criolla” which is very much the popular genre of Lima and the coast. He is  a regular visitor to the bars of Barranco where he moves from table to table playing requests for the customers.

He has been an itinerant guitar player for about thirty eight years and in Barranco is very much part of the local  scenery.

The Star

I have known Lorenzo since  he was knee-high to a grasshopper. He was a student in the  school where I used to work. 

Lorenzo is  an extraordinary jazz saxophonist  and studied composition at the Berklee College of Music in Boston.

He now lives in Los Angeles and the day before we met up yet again, had just returned from a tour of Australia and New Zealand. Two years ago he won a Latin Grammy, and again had two  nominations the following year as well.

Although I was his Head of School in Primary, he was my master as far as music was concerned. Before going to the United States, he was playing with the best musicians in Lima.  To my horror he would invite me to play sometimes with him and the band. This proves that not only is he a great musician, but  has great patience and a well developed sense of charity as well! The musicians  were  all in a totally different league. It was as if he were now the  Head …….. and I was back in short trousers in Infant School.

The Venue

Juanito is a typical traditional bodega bar in Barranco. If you want to feel the real traditional Lima…..go to Juanito. Basic, with simple wooden chairs and tables but with a beautiful Lima soul.

The Happening

Having finished the  Australia tour, Lorenzo  had stopped off  in Lima to see his family.  He phoned me and an hour later we were in Barranco with some other musician friends. At the turn of midnight, the others left and we decided to go on  to Juanito for one (or two)  last drinks.

It was getting  late and for some of the clients, it was past their bedtime.

Amado was there, with his guitar as always. I had taken some photos of him on a previous occasion but they hadn’t come out very well. I asked him if I could take some more of him and he sat down at our table with his guitar.

He began to talk about his music, and how, when he was young, he had played guitar for Chabuca.

He stopped, picked up his guitar closed his eyes and started to play.  Out of all the songs he could have chosen, he played Chabuca’s song,  “La Flor de la Canela”.

 

When he finished, I was able to tell him, that Lorenzo had won his Latin Grammy for his arrangement of the very same song.

The two of them had backgrounds and histories so different, but were united through one of Chabuca’s songs.

Sometimes….. things just happen!

12 responses to “A Story about Chabuca’s Song.”

  1. How lovely to meet a talented musician and artist! Thanks for sharing a bit of Chabuca’s background with us 😊

    Like

  2. It sounds like it was a wonderful evening.

    Like

  3. Nice story; did they ever play together?..

    Like

  4. Your story about musicians has a musical quality about it.

    Like

  5. I enjoyed learning about these fantastic characters and musicians. It’s great to see that photo of Amado and Lorenzo together united by Chabuca’s music. Sounds like a special night and your article has inspired me to listen to Chabuca and Lorenzo Ferrero. Hope you are doing well, Geoff!

    Like

    1. They will both be glad to hear that. Lorenzo is now back in LA…. and Amado, going from table to table in Juanito!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi, Geoff. I left you a fairly long, complimentary comment this afternoon, but it doesn’t seem to have appeared on your blog. Could you check to see if I’ve landed in your spam folder, please? I’d like you to be able to read it. Thanks. Ellie x

    Like

    1. I think the appreciated comment was in the post on “Beaches and Mejia” Have a look there and let me know. In you comment, you mentioned how I came to Lima. I included a link with my posts on how I got to… and stayed in Peru. Here is a link again to the last of the four episodes. There are links to episodes 1,2 and 3 at the beginning of this post.

      Tales of Lima 8 – Goodbye Lima …. The Journey Ahead.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Dear Geoff, I did leave a comment on the above post, as you say. I can see that one on that blog. But, I definitely left one on this post about Chabuca, too, and that’s the one that I was referring to as having vanished into thin air. Did you check your spam box? If it’s not there, I’ve no idea where it went – out into the ether somewhere, perhaps? Either way, I enjoyed this post and especially liked the mural on the wall of Cabuca. X

        Like

  7. Thank goodness for the internet and You tube……I was able to listen to both Lorenzo’s music as well as Chabuca’s song,  “La Flor de la Canela”. What an evening that must have been and how lucky you are to be able to participate. As always enjoyed reading your “story”.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much. I will pass on your note to them both!

      Like

  8. The universality of music highlights the genius of a Peruvian legend (Chabuca) through the talent of two very different admirers of hers – of different musical genres and generations (Amado and Lorenzo) – via the skilled penmanship of a Brit who has lived in Peru so long he’s now more “criollo” than the locals. Geoff says that “Sometimes things just happen”. That’s true but they are recorded for posterity by storytellers. Thanks for this inspiring story, Geoff.

    Like

Leave a comment