The Beaches….and the little town of Mejia.

In summer everyone in Lima wants to go to the beach. On Sundays, people from all walks of life descend the shoreline cliffs and flock to the beaches below.

La Costa Verde, Lima.

On weekdays, the throng of beach enthusiasts thins out,  making the beach a convenient sandy escape from the bustle of busy city life.

To avoid the crowds, at weekends there is a procession of cars heading south to beaches in  villages such as Punta Negra or Punta Hermosa, fifty or so  kilometres from Lima.

Punta Negra
Punta Hermosa

Another favourite beach is “El Silencio”. On this long beach, the traders walk for hours trudging up and down the crescent of sand selling their jewellery, buckets, water wings, paddling pools, temporary tattoos, ice creams and chicken sandwiches.

(Click and scroll to see small images full size.)

Those who are wealthy,  travel a little  further, to their elegant  white summer houses in “Asia”,  one hundred kilometres south of Lima, where they enjoy their private beaches and hang out with their own little bubble of  people. (See separate  post……….The Asia Beaches – The Story of Contrasts in Peru.)

And away from Lima?  The most popular  holiday resorts can be found in the north, a ninety minute flight from Lima. It was here that Ernest Hemingway did his merlin fishing. The weather is hotter , the sea warmer and the beaches are wide and sandy. There  are top class  hotels as well as  modest hostels, restaurants and eateries, something for all tastes and pockets.

But really the whole of the Peruvian coast is a beach as it is simply the edge of a desert that runs throughout the length of the Peruvian coast from the frontier with Ecuador to the border with Chile.

Panamericana Highway heading for Ilo

The arid desert is only interrupted by a few small towns which exist where rivers come down from the Andes creating a few kilometres of green fertile land.

For me, I enjoy these deserted beaches in the south of the country. There are few towns and you can  walk along kilometres of empy beach with not a soul in sight,  accompanied only by the seabirds and crashing waves.

As you walk  along,  breathing the sea air and listening to  the constant explosion of the  breaking rollers, there is a great sense, not only of solitude, but peace as well.

One’s only company ……. the sea birds, who own the beach. They seem to ignore you until the last minute before flying off with a flurry of wings until you have walked beyond their claimed domain.

The waves penetrate the beach leaving foam and bubbles in little troughs in the sand. The sunlight sparkles on the water leaving fascinating patterns, before slowly sinking and disappearing into the sand. 

With a crash the next wave comes. I only have water up to my knees, but the power of the water almost knocks me over. My camera tells me to be more careful.

A couple of hours later, returning  along the beach the little town of Mejia  comes into view.

I stay here in this sleepy  town with my great friends, David and Marie who  I have known for decades.  I now have the habit of making my way to Mejia  every year in March.

By then, the summer season has ended. In the summer months, January and February, Mejia is popular with visitors coming from Peru’s second largest city Arequipa, which is situated in the mountains about three hours away by road.

However, in March, the summer holidays are over, the kids are back at school and Mejรญa goes into a peaceful hibernation for the rest of the year.

There are only  about a  thousand regular habitants. It is a pretty town, where the town centre is largely made up of old  traditional wooden houses.

There are no large shops, just the  odd bodega. There are no banks or ATM machines in Mejรญa. For anything other than daily needs,  you have to take a twenty minute ride in a “combi”  (mini-bus) to the  nearby town of Mollendo.

Everything stays the same! The only difference I notice in this shop since last year is  that the headlines have changed and  the mannequin has changed her  dress.

A short climb from the beach, and just a block before coming to  the old blue church, is the bodega known as Maria’s

Maria passed away in 2008 and now her niece Milagros runs the little shop. In the photo is Milagros’ mother, Sara,  who also helps her out.

The shop has been serving  the local residents for over 100 years.  Little has changed. The decor is the same, the rough wooden floor, the permanent open door with a cloth hanging over the open doorway  to keep out the sun.

  David remembers coming to the shop as a small boy and choosing his sweets from a closed display cabinet on the counter. The same cabinet is still there, just as he remembers it over fifty years ago.  The only difference  is that now there are two ice-cream freezers standing in front.

The empty beaches, the quiet sleepy town, the old wooden walled shop, all come together to create a sound feeling of tranquility.. 

I do still enjoy, the bustle of Lima beaches, so near to where I live. I also enjoy the fun and sun of the resorts in the north. I have been grateful as well, for the generous invitations I have had over the years to the luxurious enclave of beaches  in Asia.

However, for me…..I am never more happy than when I am trudging along the southern beaches heading for  Mejรญa, knowing that there is a cold beer waiting for me in Maria’s………ah…..the simple things of life!

And I think maybe David will have beaten me to it,……Yes…on arriving to Maria’s, there he is in the same old chair……the Hemingway of the South!  Cheers!

Thanks David and Marie for putting up with me.  Next March as usual??

Other posts about the Peruvian  Coast

7 responses to “The Beaches….and the little town of Mejia.”

  1. David definitely reminds me of Hemingway! I wonder if he likes to go fishing too? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Great photo.

    Like

  2. Gorgeous beaches! I’ve only heard of Lima’s Miraflores beaches, but I didn’t know there were many other popular ones along the country’s coast! I’m spoilt here in LA with some world-class beaches, but there are plenty of lovely shores all over the world– Peru included! Thanks for sharing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. The nicest beaches are up in the north. But the ones in the south are more wild and rugged which I like. (I am not t a “laying on the beach” type of person!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post again, Geoff! Thanks! I would go South I guess.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. Thank you for sharing your artistic, lovely photographs.

    Like

  5. It’s always a delight and a joy to see your photos and read your descriptions of your travels, Geoff. What gorgeous places you get to visit. From someone like me, who’s only ever been abroad once, in 1977 (my honeymoon at 19), to Benidorm when Benidorm was Spanish and not totally anglicised, as I’ve heard it is these days, your posts are a real treat. What made you decide to move to Lima, or have you always been there? Were you in the UK before, and is that where you were born?

    Travelling anywhere would be a real trial and challenge for me as a wheelchair user. I’m used to using Alfie, my electric wheelchair, which I couldn’t take on a plane. I could take my manual wheelchair, couldn’t travel alone because of carrying luggage and managing during stopovers. I’d have liked to have gone to Melbourne, Australia, to see my sister and meet a close blogging friend. I can’t see that ever happening, though, unfortunately. Have you been to Australia?

    Thanks for sharing your wonderful photos and details of your trips. I love the portrait photo of your friend at the end of your post. Xx ๐Ÿ˜˜

    Like

    1. I think this was your post you were referring to Ellie. I left England when I was 24 to travel the World and ended up in Peru. Since then I have only lived in England for three years, though I often visit . Here is a series of four posts about how I got to and stayed in Lima. This is the last episode of the story but here in this link there are links to the previous episodes too.

      Tales of Lima 8 – Goodbye Lima …. The Journey Ahead.

      All the best!

      Like

Leave a comment