The Combi Ride, Puno.

You can’t really say that you know Peru if you haven’t travelled in a Combi. The Combi is often like a human tin of sardines.

The word “full” does not exist in the Combi driver’s vocabulary.  The seats are crammed into the vehicle with very little leg room,

I am at present in Puno in the south of Peru. Puno is situated on the shores of Lake Titicaca and is near the Bolivian border.

I came to Puno this time for two reasons:

  • To enjoy yet again the festival of the Candelaria, which is always a mind-blowing experience. This is my third visit to the festival.
  • To visit two Uros communities on small floating islands on Lake Titicaca  to complete information for a post I am presently preparing,

But now, these new posts will have to wait……….  for today I had a special Combi experience!!!!!

After returning from Lucho’s  floating island to a small port, Qalapajra, just  outside of Puno, I took a  ” Combi Grenate” (so called because of its bright grenadine colour) in order to return to my hotel.

All the seats were taken, and there were a number of people standing.   At first the sliding door wouldn’t  close and I had to push a little harder to fully enter. When the door  was closed,  the driver started off with a lurch  and two  pairs of hands just managed to stop me from collapsing onto an old grandmother’s lap. Once I was wedged in securely, I thanked them for their help… and a conversation began.

“Where are you from? How long in Peru?”, the two women inquired. I  answered these questions and quite a few  more, before  arriving at my stop and finding a way to extricate myself from the vehicle.

Later, I took  another Combi to go to the town centre. It was also full except for  the extra bench- seat behind the driver facing backwards.  As this was an additionally added seat,  the leg room was zero. I had to carefully weave my legs between  the two people sitting in  front of me.

Still, I did have a seat. All the seats were taken except for a narrow space on the tiny bench seat next to me.

We stopped and two women got on. They  were the same two women, from the previous ride in the morning. One sat on the space on my bench and the other remained standing,

After greeting me, they shared the story of our previous meeting with the other passengers, perhaps because it was  such a coincidence. They mentioned  that I was English and lived in Peru, One other passenger then asked me directly, what I was doing in Puno. My answer with a laugh and smile was, “You’d better ask these two. They seem to know more about me than I do.” And as if to prove the point, they told everyone, that I lived in Lima, came to  Puno for the Festival,  had one daughter in Peru and one in England, Another passenger then asked if my wife was English or Peruvian. I  answered that she was Peruvian but that we are now divorced.   On hearing this, I received a variety of  good-hearted suggestions  on how that could easily be remedied here in Puno.

The twenty- five minute journey passed very quickly and I was  able to take a “Listo…… uno, dos, tres, ya!”  (one, two, three, go!) type photo of them before arriving at my destination.

The Combis  all have two crew members. the driver who thinks he is a Formula One Ace,

and the “Cobrador” who tells the driver when to stop, opens and closes the sliding door,  and takes the one Sol fare (£0.20 – $0.26) from each passenger. The Combis have set routes but stop on any street corner to drop or pick up passengers.

This Combi ride was indeed a very unusual  one, perhaps the reason why  I chose to write about it.  Please do not think that this happens every time you get on a Combi in Peru,

But just  three things to clarify before ending this post.

  • I am certainly not going to  take up the passenger’s advice on how to  make  future relationships in Puno.
  • Peruvian Combis are indeed often a “little too full”.
  • The Combi drivers in Peru are indeed commonly recognised as being Kamikazi ex- Formula1  racing drivers.

Here, a gallery of the comings and goings as we hurtled towards the centre of Puno!

9 responses to “The Combi Ride, Puno.”

  1. Everyone is packed in. It’s like a Jeepney in the Philippines.

    Like

  2. Stories like this are the best part of travelling. 😊

    Like

  3. This is entertaining to read and everyone looks friendly, but I’m not sure I’d want to experience it myself! 😀

    Like

  4. This was delightful read. It sort of reminds me of the subway trains during the morning rush when I use to work – over packed but not this colourful or delightful! Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  5. Sardines, indeed! Packed public transport is anxiety-inducing, but also an adventure. The Combi ride looks like an experience to be had in Peru!

    Like

  6. Ah, some serendipitous togetherness makes for great memories.

    Like

  7. Another one of your delightful stories. Reminded me of when I lived in Iran. While there were no combis there the local taxi cabs had the same presence as the combi; pick up passengers on the same route as the first passenger’s destination, and that could mean anywhere from 3-5 new passengers ( if there were two of you traveling together then one could sit on the other’s lap). It’s what we no a days call “shared rides”🙃. Out of curiosity what is the fatality on these combi rides?

    Like

  8. Fantastic story Geoff, you seem to be full of them. Once again you beautifully captured the people of Peru and highlighted a fascinating aspect of the travel culture. Love the marriage advice anecdote from the passengers 🙂

    Like

  9. Fabulous story! Thanks for such an entertaining post, I enjoyed it!

    Like

Leave a comment