Ashaninka

In one of my last posts, I wrote about the many years I have had the great pleasure of knowing Martin from the Ashaninka community of Pampa Michi in Chanchamayo, Peru. I have visited Pampa Michi many times over the last thirty years or so, as well as the neighbouring community of Marankiari. Here is the link to the previous post.

Martin, when we were both much younger.

This time, the post is dedicated to portraits of the kind people and families of these two communities who helped to make possible our project of the “Three Regions of Peru”

10 responses to “Ashaninka”

  1. This is a touching and beautiful photo album to contemplate.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Swabby429 said it so well — these are touching and beautiful. I always look forward to your posts.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful portraits!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow. You have such a great eye and ability to capture the essence of your subjects. Beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Excellent series of portraits ~ made better knowing the deep meaning you hold for them. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Geoff, when I see photos like this I’m just awed to think that somewhere, people are still living their lives as they (apparently) have been for many years. I suppose I’m being romantic but never having had the privilege of meeting people like this, I envy you. Your portraits seem to show people who are pretty content with their lives. There’s a gentleness there, too. Again, I hope I’m not being too ignorant or romantic.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They find a balance between the traditional and the modern. They belong to both worlds. I sent the latest photos i took of my friend Martin to his daughter by Whatsapp. They are Spanish speakers but chat together in Ashaninka and are proud of their roots. People have the gift to find happiness and contentment whstever their circumstance. However, in Peru it is a sad reality that many people, especially in the mountains and jungle, have insufficient services of health care and education. I an only too well aware that I am one of the priviliged who leads a,comfortable

      Liked by 1 person

      1. This all makes a lot of sense, Geoff, thanks for taking the time to explain. I often think about how lucky I ma to have born to middle class parents in a first world country. There have been very difficult times but certain things, like food and shelter, may have been harder to come by sometimes but were never a major problem for me. I would feel humbled to meet these people (or others like them) too. I’m sure I would learn a lot!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. life in an “nice” partnof Lima. It humbles to to have the opportunity to travel around and meet such special and wonderful people.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment